Donor Day at TechSoup Global Partner Summit – Panelist Biographies

Panelist Biographies

David Barnard is the Executive Director of the Southern African NGO Network (SANGONeT), based
in Johannesburg, South Africa. David has extensively published and presented on issues relating to
development and ICT in Africa. He is a Founding Member of the African Institute for Corporate
Citizenship (AICC), Board Member of the Non-Profit Technology Network (N-Ten) and Advisory Board
Member of the African Press Organisation.

Doug Jacquier has been CEO of Connecting Up Australia for the past 9 years. His professional
career has included public sector social work, disaster recovery, management training, and business
development in remote Aboriginal communities. He was awarded Innovator of the Year in the 2008
Australian Nonprofit CEO Awards.

Rufina Fernandes joined as founding C.E.O. of NASSCOM Foundation in July 2005. NASSCOM ,
the National Association of Software Services Companies, is the leading association of IT companies in
India and the seed funder of the Foundation with the vision of leveraging all the resources of the Indian
IT Industry for social development and empowering the lives of the underserved. Before joining NF,
Rufina served as Sr. Vice President – Strategic Initiatives & Head – CSR at GTL Limited, a leading
Networking Engineering and IT Services Company in India. She has a long record of involvement with
the Indian non-profit sector.

John Fung is the founder and director of Information Technology Resource Centre (ITRC), Hong
Kong Council of Social Service, an organization he describes as "a hybrid of social work and computer
engineering." ITRC has become the biggest ICT solution provider for the social service sector in Hong
Kong and Macau. John is A longtime university teacher and a researcher on information society both
internationally and in China. He is passionate about extending the services and resources of the
Techsoup Global Network to the emerging nonprofit sector on the mainland.

Clara Miller is President and CEO of Nonprofit Finance Fund (NFF), a national leader in nonprofit,
philanthropic and social enterprise finance which has provided nearly $1 billion in loans and other direct
investments to this sector. NFF is a recipient of a 2007 Fast Company Award for Social
Entrepreneurship. She is a board member of Working Today , GuideStar, GEO and is a Community
Development Advisor for the Federal Reserve Bank of New York. . Miller was a Clinton appointee to the
U.S. Treasury’s Community Development Advisory Board, as a member and later, its Chair. She chaired
the Opportunities Finance Network board for six years. She has been named on repeated occasions to
the Nonprofit Times "Power and Influence 50.".

Joaquin Alvarado is the incoming Senior Vice President for Innovation and Diversity at the
Corporation for Public Broadcasting. He was Founding Director of San Francisco State University’s
Institute for Next Generation Internet (INGI). Joaquin is an award-winning documentary filmmaker,
writer, producer and director. He holds a BA in Chicano studies from University of California, Berkeley
and a MFA from the UCLA School of Film, Television and Digital Media.

Rebecca Masisak is co-CEO of TechSoup Global, which she joined in 2001 to launch and chart the
growth of TSG’s technology product donation program and social enterprise. After successfully
establishing the program in North America (, Ms. Masisak developed an
international expansion model, which today serves an international NGO audience in more than 23
countries. Under Ms. Masisak’s leadership, TechSoup Global has processed over four million donated
and discounted technology products to free up more than US $1 billion for direct services. As Co-C.E.O.,
Ms. Masisak has been instrumental in building TechSoup Global’s capacity and reach to support the
entire portfolio of TechSoup Global’s programs for bringing products, information, human capacity and
resources to the communities who need them most.

Moderator: Daniel Ben-Horin is TechSoup Global’s Founder (as CompuMentor in 1987) and co-

Written by: Creech